comhost.blogg.se

Order of terry goodkind sword of truth books
Order of terry goodkind sword of truth books











order of terry goodkind sword of truth books
  1. ORDER OF TERRY GOODKIND SWORD OF TRUTH BOOKS HOW TO
  2. ORDER OF TERRY GOODKIND SWORD OF TRUTH BOOKS SERIES

Other thing was, that the explanation given by the author through the dialogs and characters’ thoughts, was something that I agreed with. What were the reasons for his actions? What was the outcome? Was it right or wrong? What would I do differently? In other words, the book got me thinking (ouch, that hurt). So, how was the philosophy in The Sword of Truth different from what was preached by Plato/Kant/Locke/etc.? Well, for starter I didn’t know that I was reading a philosophy book, until I started questioning things myself.

ORDER OF TERRY GOODKIND SWORD OF TRUTH BOOKS HOW TO

More to the point, I hated the very idea of some arrogant little philosopher telling me how to live my life like he knew everything and I knew nothing(yeah? if you’re so smart and I’m so dumb, why am I alive and why are you dead, pal?). I just never could find a philosopher that I could agree with (No Kant, you didn’t cut it either with your Categorical Imperative and Duty everywhere). It’s not that I didn’t understand what those all-so-mighty philosophers were trying to write in their ancient text.

ORDER OF TERRY GOODKIND SWORD OF TRUTH BOOKS SERIES

They do what they do because they believe that their actions are right and serve the common good of the people (Commie Alert!), but that is not an excuse, just another layer of grey between white and black.But what got me sold on the series was not the plot, characters (although that played a big part in my affection for the saga), but the philosophy behind it.ĭon’t get me wrong here, I never liked philosophy, although I always had A’s from my philosophy classes. They are not bad, because they want to be bad. We get to know the reasoning behind their actions. Even when we get to the Coalition of Evil of the books, the antagonists are portrayed more in-depth.

order of terry goodkind sword of truth books

Nobody’s totally good (maybe excluding Richard Cypher, the protagonist, but even he gets a little mud on his shoes) in the series. evil, turns out to be layered with lots of gray areas. The plot might seem standard for fantasy at the first sight (mighty protagonist as the champion of all that is good, waging battle upon the evil forces of the whoever the main-bad -guy is).













Order of terry goodkind sword of truth books